Finding a Common Passion

Standard

640px-Messi_olympics-soccer-11Except for the ski incident, I haven’t posted at all about sports, even though I think may have mentioned my OBSESSION with sports on my About page. I started young. I saw Willie Mays in his last days at Candlestick Park. I was an avid follower of both the Big Red Machine—I wanted to be Johnny Bench—and the Portland Trailblazers. When I moved north, I followed all things Seattle.

Then I had kids and we followed them as they moved through the sporting seasons: soccer, basketball and wrestling, baseball, soccer. Over and over through the years. Nothing hard core…just watching them play for the enjoyment of it.

For a sports nut, it’s a special time in Seattle. The Seahawks are Superbowl champs, the Mariners are actually fielding an oddly compelling, competitive group, and the US Men’s Soccer team has 2 players from our MLS Sounders. One is even homegrown. Deandre Yedlin is my oldest son’s age, played on soccer teams my son’s team faced, so it’s with great pride that we watch him and the US Men’s National Team compete in Brazil.

Seattle’s soccer mad, but I’ve noticed many people from incredibly varied backgrounds tweeting about the tournament. Agents and editors tweeting about noise exploding from bars at midday in Manhattan, sports reporters sending Instagrams of delirious crowds reacting to a score from inside an office, Seahawks players posting selfies wearing USMT jerseys. It’s a fun reminder of how sport can unite a community, a country, a world.

If you haven’t given it a try this World Cup, be somewhere near a bar or viewing location tomorrow for the US v Belgium match. Even if you don’t care much for the game, I’ll wager you won’t come away unaffected by the energy. And you never know…the Beautiful Game may infect you, too, even if only for a day.

 

Photo Attribution: By Andre Kiwitz (originally posted to Flickr as olympics-soccer-11) [CC-BY-SA-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons
Leave a Reply

