Ahh, Completion

Standard

 

orgasm face 2Wow.

I had forgotten the exhilaration of completing a draft of a novel. I haven’t done it in over a year. Yeah, I was seriously celibate, which made the climax all the more thrilling. Not so much fireworks and pulsing lights, but that long, drawn out sigh of satisfaction. The one that makes you walk around with a secretive little smile, like you know something no one else does. The lingering, pleasant thrum you still feel the next day.

Only now, it’s the proverbial morning after. It’s off to betas, and reality’s about to hit. We’ll see if there’s potential for a long term relationship, but if not, the one night was…awesome.

 

Photo: Franciszek Żmurko [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
8 thoughts on “Ahh, Completion

  1. lmao. love the comparison. 😉
    Congrats!!! I won’t feel that way again until I make the changes I know I need to make…but first I must find the time :-/

    • ha ha! I love that you got it! 😀

      Time is an elusive commodity, but it’s OK to let your brain do the work while you carry on with life. Just not for toooooo long. Wishing you good a good, sharp knife to carve out the time you need, Karla.

  2. I know how it feels. Like you can take a deep breath, finally. Take a moment, look around, soak it in.

    You did it, Elaine! Enjoy the moment, kiddo.

    xo kk

    • Well, clearly I did, kk. I was positively breathless there for a few minutes. Thank you, as always, for your support. It’s truly wonderful to have writer friends. 🙂

    • 😀 I wish I could say I’m certain the last plot hole is resolved on mine. Alas…

      Regardless, 3 years is a darn long time. There is a lot of falling in and out of love with a manuscript in a stretch like that. Or at least there has been for me. I admire your perseverance, Christine. And thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

